Review: Building a Web 2.0 Portal with ASP.NET 3.5
page 1 of 3
Published: 29 Feb 2008
Abstract
In this article, Jesudas Chinnathampi (Das) reviews "Building a Web 2.0 Portal with ASP.NET 3.5" by Omar AL Zabir (O'REILLY Publishing). Das does a chapter-by-chapter analysis of the book and explains how this book will help you build an AJAX enabled Web 2.0 portal.
by Jesudas Chinnathampi (Das)
Feedback
Average Rating: This article has not yet been rated.
Views (Total / Last 10 Days): 19018/ 88

Introduction

Web 2.0 seems to be the latest buzz. Omar AL Zabir, the author, is the CTO and co-founder of Pageflakes. Omar is also a Microsoft MVP. This book exposes the potential hidden in the Microsoft AJAX framework. Combined with ASP.NET Framework 3.5, building web 2.0 portals become easy enough. Widgets are the heart of any web 2.0 portal. Everything from building a small widget control to the difficulties associated in rendering a widget has been greatly analyzed in this book. For those who want to wet your hands, you are provided with a live working website named www.Dropthings.com. Throughout the book, you will find several examples which are based on real time web 2.0 portals, such as Pageflakes, Dropthings etc. Apart from explaining how to build a web 2.0 portal, Omar has explained many issues that he and his team faced when the Pageflakes was launched initially. He also provided in depth analysis in how they solved those issues. To visit the publisher’s (O’REILLY) website, please visit the following link.

http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/9780596510503


View Entire Article

User Comments

Title: Re Re: Re: Re: crap 2   
Name: Me again
Date: 3/5/2008 1:11:03 AM
Comment:
Developing AutoComplete Textbox using ASP.NET AJAX 1.0, Web Service and JavaScript

http://aspalliance.com/1504_Developing_AutoComplete_Textbox_using_ASPNET_AJAX_10_Web_Service_and_JavaScript

really impressed by the other user comments, either user commented didn't work at all or didn't work at firefox or having null ..... and no reply to them :) thanks for replying me ;) to cover up
Title: Re Re: Re: Re: crap   
Name: Me again
Date: 3/5/2008 12:39:06 AM
Comment:
Oh thats review, hehehe i thought.... Now i get to know you wrote review about book, actually after reading your article allegedly review, i got confuse. ok if you say then i believe but i had some other definitions or experience of reviews.

it seemed me just chapter to chapter brief intro.

try to look them to have better understanding of reviews
http://www.reviews.com/
http://review.zdnet.com
http://www.businessweek.com/technology/reviews/
Title: Re: Re: Re: crap   
Name: Das
Date: 3/4/2008 2:10:49 PM
Comment:
First of all, thanks for the comments.

Reviews differ a lot from person to person. Again, when reviews are published in various websites, the book gets more visibility. People who read articles at ASPAlliance may not read at O'Reilly or MPV blogs.

Here at our ASPAlliance, we get occasional requests from publishers whether we are interested in writing reviews for their books. If we say YES, they sent us a copy of the book. From that moment, our conversation with the publishers end. Period. Then we read the book and write our own review. Once the review is published at our website, the book gets more publicity.

You are right, it is kind of advertisement for the publishers. But, people who read ASPAlliance articles will also get benefitted from reading the review.

As you suggested, it will be lot better if I can come up with an article which explains creating widgets. Actually, in many of previous occassion, I will end up writing an article based on experience that I gained from reading the book. For example, I ended up writing the article,

Developing AutoComplete Textbox using ASP.NET AJAX 1.0, Web Service and JavaScript

http://aspalliance.com/1504_Developing_AutoComplete_Textbox_using_ASPNET_AJAX_10_Web_Service_and_JavaScript

after reading the book,

Review: Microsoft AJAX Library Essentials - Client Side ASP.NET AJAX 1.0 Explained

http://aspalliance.com/1576_Review_Microsoft_AJAX_Library_Essentials__Client_Side_ASPNET_AJAX_10_Explained

So, you can except an article from my side in the future about creating widgets.

--Das
Title: Re: Re: crap   
Name: :D
Date: 3/4/2008 2:40:24 AM
Comment:
Actually i don't understand purpose of this explanation about web 2.0 portal book, where as book and publishers do this in a better way means YES let me show you links.
http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/9780596510503/
https://msmvps.com/blogs/omar/archive/2008/01/13/my-first-book-building-a-web-2-0-portal-with-asp-net-3-5.aspx

somehow doing the same thing. :D in our language. we say hold the ear from 1 side or from other side means same ;)

Actually if you write about web 2.0 portals after gaining your knowledge by this book, that would be better and appreciate able but ......
Title: Re: crap   
Name: Das
Date: 3/3/2008 12:53:18 AM
Comment:
Can you please show me a book which explains Web 2.0 portal better than this one?

And, I do not get paid from O'Reilly.
Title: crap   
Name: ME
Date: 3/3/2008 12:34:16 AM
Comment:
how much did you get pay to write this crap.

its unnecessary and kind of advertisement of book :D

Product Spotlight
Product Spotlight 





Community Advice: ASP | SQL | XML | Regular Expressions | Windows


©Copyright 1998-2014 ASPAlliance.com  |  Page Processed at 10/21/2014 2:18:53 PM  AspAlliance Recent Articles RSS Feed
About ASPAlliance | Newsgroups | Advertise | Authors | Email Lists | Feedback | Link To Us | Privacy | Search