Understanding Internet Information Services - Part 1
page 2 of 7
by Uday Denduluri
Average Rating: This article has not yet been rated.
Views (Total / Last 10 Days): 34204/ 52

Components of IIS

Let us list some of the components of the IIS and also have a brief on each one of them in detail.

1.      HTTP Protocol Stack – HTTP protocol stack is between the operating system kernel and the HTTP requests. It receives the HTTP requests and routes them to the appropriate HTTP request queue. Apart from doing this it also caches the responses and does the Quality of Service functionalities (QoS) like maintaining bandwidth, connection timeouts and connection limits.

2.      Application Isolation Modes – Internet Information Services (IIS) 6.0 supports two different isolation modes (application). This separates and protects the Web applications (ASP.NET, ASP, static pages, and so on) that can run in parallel. 

·         Worker Process Isolation Mode – The default mode is the worker process isolation mode.

·         IIS 5.0 Isolation Mode – In this mode the process model settings are specified through the <processModel> element of the Machine.config file.

3.      WWW Service Administration and Monitoring

4.      InetInfo.exe

View Entire Article

User Comments

Title: Thanks   
Name: harika
Date: 2011-08-04 5:29:40 PM
It is very nice, thank you so much..
Title: app support   
Name: pt
Date: 2009-10-09 4:58:14 PM
Thank you, this is defintely a start to understanding IIS.
Title: -   
Name: Dan
Date: 2007-08-17 3:58:35 AM
Nice read, well done

Product Spotlight
Product Spotlight 

Community Advice: ASP | SQL | XML | Regular Expressions | Windows

©Copyright 1998-2024 ASPAlliance.com  |  Page Processed at 2024-07-12 11:08:42 PM  AspAlliance Recent Articles RSS Feed
About ASPAlliance | Newsgroups | Advertise | Authors | Email Lists | Feedback | Link To Us | Privacy | Search