Implementing the MVC Design Pattern in ASP.NET
page 2 of 7
by Joydip Kanjilal
Average Rating: 
Views (Total / Last 10 Days): 48884/ 61

MVC Architectural Components

The MVC design pattern is comprised of three major components.

1.    The Model (The Data Layer)

2.    The View (The User Interface Layer)

3.    The Controller (The Business Logic Layer)

Let us now take a look at what each of these components relate to. The Model represents the application's data; the View displays this data to the user and the Controller represents the application's business logic. The Model is that component that maintains the state of the entities. The View is the graphical representation of the data; it displays the current state of the Model in the user interface. Note that you can have more than one view of the same data. The Controller has a major role to play. It handles the user interaction in the presentation layer, manipulates the model and renders the model's data into one or more views. It also applies business rules as and when necessary.

Here is a figure (from an article at C# Corner) that illustrates how each of these components work.

Figure 1: The MVC Architectural Components

View Entire Article

User Comments

No comments posted yet.

Product Spotlight
Product Spotlight 

Community Advice: ASP | SQL | XML | Regular Expressions | Windows

©Copyright 1998-2024  |  Page Processed at 2024-05-24 1:45:11 PM  AspAlliance Recent Articles RSS Feed
About ASPAlliance | Newsgroups | Advertise | Authors | Email Lists | Feedback | Link To Us | Privacy | Search